10 months · Breastfeeding · Sleeping · Travelling

Flying with an infant for the FIRST TIME!

I got ill 2 days before our flight to Manila, I was so weak that I had to reserve all my energy just so we can make our flight. You know how airports tend to have those IR thermometers…*sigh*

Our flight was on my birthday and Baby Tony’s gift to his mommy was allowing me to feed him rice using chopsticks and feeding him my freshly baked cheddar biscuits. 🙂 That was one of the best gifts I received. He’s always been so angry when we try to feed him anything!

Airline: Philippine Airlines
Route: HKG to MNL
Time: 22:25 – 00:35 (1 hour delayed, so we took off at 23:30)
Class/Seats: Economy class – 2 seats only, no seat for Baby Tony

We chose this flight because 10PM is Baby Tony’s sleeping time. True enough, he was asleep the entire flight! While we were taxiing, he was nursing and when we took off, he just fell asleep. All good, yes? BUT when we got to Manila, it took a looooong time to get our luggages that he woke up. Then, he met his grandparents and uncle – new environment, new people…he cried and cried and didn’t want to be held by anybody else but his parents.

We got home at 2:30AM, I prepared him for bed time again but he wanted to explore the bed and went to sleep at 4AM. The next day, my husband and I were zombies.

I made cheddar biscuits a few hours before our flight so Baby Tony is sure to have some solid food while we meet our friends.

We had a road trip to the province and we left the city at 9:30PM and arrived at 2AM. Same thing, he was so curios about the big house, the bed, everything that he went to bed at 3AM. The next day, Christmas eve, he woke up early and since my husband was still sleeping, we decided to go to the mall and buy food for Noche Buena. I felt so tired!

Airline: Philippine Airlines
Route: MNL – HKG
Time: 19:00 – 21:10 (1 hour delayed, so we took off at 20:00)
Class/Seats: Premium economy class (“Choice seats”) – 2 seats only, no seat for Baby Tony. The check-in counter waived my upgrade but charged my husband US$15.

Baby Tony was asleep while we were waiting to be boarded and woke up as soon as we got into the plane. Upgrading our seats because there was no window seat was the best decision we’ve ever made that day! There were less than 10 people in that class so the man who was supposedly sitting with us decided to sit elsewhere so Baby Tony actually had his own seat. We were able to sit, play, eat and nurse comfortably. Next time, we’ll upgrade again! For around PhP700+/HK$116, the space is worth every cent.

I couldn’t get through the fast lanes in the immigration because Baby Tony’s passport is required to be seen by the officers. Which reminds me, I need to apply for his visa that is stuck inside his passport (HK$200) so I don’t need to carry his birth certificate with us every time we travel.

The entire time we were in the Philippines, he was 200% more clingy that when we’re here in HK. I asked his pedia about this and she said it is because everything was new and the only security he had were us, his parents. It also didn’t help that he was teething!!!

Overall, it was an exhausting experience. If we were to change anything, it was that we shouldn’t be travelling anywhere where we get to our destination in the wee hours of the night. Extremely [energy] draining!

Here is the summary of our first trip to the Philippines.
image

How was your first flying experience with your child? Was it this tiring?

Leave a comment